Unforgettable characters and concepts await your articulation…

Writer v. Character


The novel I am currently working on is entitled Quiet.  My main character, Quincy Avalee has decided to no longer utter a single word. In fact she will not speak until twenty years later.

Her vow started in response to an aunt’s indiscretion but has grown into much, much more.  It is her mantra, her means of connecting with the larger things of life and disconnecting with the small.

Quincy has stopped speaking to me as well.  She is a very complex character and getting her story out, onto the page lately, has been a heart wrenching struggle, much like pulling teeth.

But as stubborn and strong willed as Quincy has proven to be, she has met her match.  I will not give in and allow her story to go untold nor unexplored, it’s way too enriching.  I shall continue to dig into the recesses of this imaginary person’s mind and get her truth out.  It is incredible to me that even I, her very own creator, would have to endure the quietness of her tongue.

Ishmael Reed said ‘writin’ is fightin’.   I must admit, there’s a rumble going on at my keyboard! And when it’s over, I’ll have my novel and Quincy will have a very special gift from yours truly – her very own story.

Hard fought words from the…

Voice Of A Writer

Comments on: "Writer v. Character" (1)

  1. Isn’t that the truth? ‘Writing is Fighting’ Sometimes what we think is so far off the mark that the characters mutiny. Then its time to have an old fashion parlance in order to get things moving again.

Leave a Reply

